Mr. Ruiz,

As teenagers in the 8th grade, our time together was cut short in a blink of an eye and it was beyond our control. You living in New York and me being here in Florida at such young ages, we had to part ways. We both went on with our lives. Living and growing; experiencing the good times and bad, those experiences only taught us and prepared us for the day we would be united again. On June 26th 2009, of course through Facebook, we connected once again.  It seemed as if we picked up right where we left off 10 years ago.

Nearly three years later, I am still thankful that I sent you that friend request. You are an amazing person. You have overcome many obstacles in life, but yet are still standing and with a great heart, with an unimaginable amount of love. One of my biggest worries was making sure I found someone with enough love in their heart to not only love and be there for me, but most importantly to find someone who could take on the responsibility to love and be there for my daughter.  Avah instantaneously gravitated to you and created a bond with you. I can’t begin to thank you enough for all that you have brought to her life. I believe I found you at that moment not only for me, but for her. You are an amazing dad! All three of the kids adore you. I am sorry that we unfortunately are so far from Anthony. But even with being so far, you still make every effort to be a part of his life and be there for him. You support him in every way a father should.

I love you so much Rich. I have never been in a relationship in my life where I didn’t have to worry so much that things will be taken care of. I have a partner, who come hell or high water I know things will be done and taken care of. You support me in all my dreams. Yes, even though I dream big and take on a lot and think I’m super woman, you support me. I was able to graduate and move on to USF because of your support. We are a perfect balance for each other to help keep the other grounded and in check, and I love that.

It hasn’t always been rainbows and sunshine. We’ve had our moments and times of struggle, but together, we get through it. So long as I have you by my side I know our family will be alright.

In four months, the culmination of our 10 year journey will be here: Our wedding day. I can’t wait to be your wife Rich. I’m sure we will have our share of ups and downs through the years, like most marriages, but having you as my husband, my partner, and friend will make the years that much better.

“Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart, they were like northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you”

 

I love you.

Mrs. Ruiz

Leave a Reply

