This year’s Halftime Show was ‘Like a Prayer’

Though admittedly I did not watch the Halftime show live, I woke up Monday morning reading everyone’s reaction to the show and thought I better watch for myself and see. Thank goodness for Youtube right? Now let me begin by saying the last halftime show I remember watching and actually enjoying was the one here in Tampa with Aerosmith, Britney Spears, Nelly, and Nsync. That is how long I have personally been bored with halftime shows. Ever since the NFL tried ‘cleaning’ up the show by having big name, older artists like Prince, Rolling Stones, and Paul McCartney the show has been lacking serious wow factor. So going into this years’ Super Bowl  I admittedly was not all that excited. Madonna is a great artist, the “Queen of Pop” but honestly she has not been tearing up the charts since the early 90’s. So again, I had the mind set that this year would be like all the previous ones.

So as I begin to watch the opening of the show I was immediately drawn in by the dark, mystic Roman entrance. As the show went on the stage came alive with not only her performance but the actual look of the stage and back drops. Though the use of LMFAO, Nicki Minaj, M.I.A, and Cee Lo was minimal it was enough to put that hip, up to date stamp on the performance. My favorite part of the show was the last set, Like a Prayer. It was a great way to end the performance and I once again was captivated and drawn in. All in all I really liked the show this year. Madonna proved that no matter how old you are or even how long it has been since you have been on top of the Billboard charts, she can still bring it!

Leave a Reply

